About CanVasc

Our Objectives

CanVasc was officially founded November 1st, 2010, in Toronto. CanVasc is a non-profit scientific network.The proposed CanVasc objectives are to:

  1. Organize and maintain a dedicated clinical and research network, with identification of referral (multidisciplinary) centers across Canada to optimize the care of patients with vasculitis. The establishment and regular updates of recommendations for the diagnostic and therapeutic management of patients are part of the tasks of the participating centers.
  2. Initiate, conduct, and promote studies (epidemiological, observational, fundamental and, ultimately, therapeutic) on vasculitis (from CanVasc, VCRC, other vasculitis research groups or industry) across Canada, using an efficient, established and rapidly mobilisable network.
  3. Develop educational and awareness programs for health care providers (training sessions, fellowships, meetings. educational materials).
  4. Stand as the Canadian referral and advisory group to identify needs in vasculitis, consider and support (new) drug approvals for vasculitis in Canada.

Since its creation, CanVasc core members have worked hard together to develop the first Canadian recommendations for the management of ANCA-associated vasculitides, published in 2015 and updated in 2020, the first Canadian educational case-based textbook on vasculitis (CAVALI, with a 3rd Edition in preparation), and to conduct several cohort studies, a national registry on vasculitis, and participate in many therapeutic trials.

Administrative board


President: Dr. Lillian Barra
Vice-president and founder: Dr. Christian Pagnoux
Secretary: Dr. Corisande Baldwin
Treasurer: Dr. Stephanie Garner

2014-2018 and 2018-2022:

President and founder: Dr. Christian Pagnoux
Vice-president and co-founder: Dr. Nader Khalidi
Secretary: Dr. Lillian Barra


President and co-founder: Dr. Simon Carette
Vice-president and founder: Dr. Christian Pagnoux
Secretary and co-founder: Dr. Nader Khalidi

CanVasc Core members

Province City Principal core members Associated members
Ontario Toronto Dr. Christian Pagnoux
Dr. Rae Yeung (Peds)
Dr. Heather Reich (Nephro);
Dr. Damien Noone (Ped. Nephro);
Dr. Medha Soowamber;
Dr. Michael Seidman (Path.)
Hamilton Dr. Nader Khalidi Dr. Michael Walsh;
Dr. Gerard P. Cox;
Dr. Parameswaran Nair;
Dr. Sankalp Bhavsar (Burlington)
Ottawa Dr. Nataliya Milman Dr. David Massicotte-Azarniouche (Nephr.);
Dr. Shaun Kilty (ENT);
Dr. Todd Fairhead (Nephr.);
Dr. Nha Voduc (Respi.)
Kingston Dr. Marie Clements-Baker Dr. Michel Melanson (Neuro.);
Dr. Tanveer Towheed
London Dr. Lillian Barra Dr. Joanne Jiang
Dr. Susan Huang (Nephr.)
Milton Dr. Leilani Famorca
Newmarket Dr. Carter Thorne Dr. Nooshin Samadi;
Dr. Mellissa Holdren;
Dr. Salman Anwar
Sherbrooke Dr. Patrick Liang Dr. Hugues Allard-Chamard;
Dr. Ariel Masetto;
Dr. Guylaine Arsenault
Montréal Dr. Jean-Paul Makhzoum (UoM);
Dr. Christian Pineau (McGill)
Dr. Arielle Mendel (McG);
Dr. Carolyn Ross (UoM);
Dr. Frederic Lefebvre (CHUM);
Dr. Yves Troyanov (UoM);
Dr. Eric Rich (UoM);
Dr. Sonia Brachémi (UoM);
Dr. Maxime Rhéaume (UoM);
Dr. Michelle Goulet (UoM)
Québec Dr. Judith Trudeau Dr. David Philibert (Nephr.);
Dr. Renée Leclerc (méd. interne);
Dr. Paul Fortin (Qbc)
Trois Rivieres Dr. Frédéric Morin Dr. Jean-Philippe Bergeron;
Dr. Clode Lessard
Nova Scotia Halifax Dr. Volodko Bakowsky Dr. Christine Dipchand
British Columbia
Vancouver Dr. Natasha Dehghan;
Dr. David Cabral (Peds)
Dr. Daniel Ennis;
Dr. Kim Morishita (Peds);
Dr. Kam Shojania;
Dr. Navjot Dhindsa (Surrey)
Dr. Chery Mammen (Ped Nephr)
Victoria Dr. Corisande Baldwin
Edmonton Dr. Elaine Yacyshyn;
Dr. Dax G. Rumsey (Peds)
Dr. Mohammed Osman;
Dr. Alison Clifford;
Dr. JW Cohen Tervaert
Calgary Dr Aurore Fifi-Mah
Dr. Susan Benseler (Peds)
Dr. Stephanie Garner;
Dr Diane Mosher;
Dr. Marinka Twilt (Peds);
Dr Charlene Fell (Resp.) ;
Dr. Louis-Philippe Girard (Nephr.)
Manitoba Winnipeg Dr. David Robinson Dr. Bryce Barr (Nephr.)
Saskatchewan Saskatoon Dr. Regina Taylor-Gjevre Dr. Bindu Nair;
Dr. Jim Barton (Nehpr.);
Dr. Julian Midgley (Nephr. Peds)
Newfoundland Saint John's Dr. Majed Khraishi

Download the updated and complete list of Principal Core, Associated and Affiliated members by clicking HERE

Register to become a CanVasc member

If you are a health care provider interested in vasculitis and CanVasc activities, you can register by filling out the registration form (link below). At this time, membership is free and does not imply anything (please note that core, associated and affiliated member status are for physicians already identified by the CanVasc bureau).

You may receive occasional information by email on the CanVasc activities, meetings or studies. CanVasc is a non-profit scientific network. You will not receive any unsollicited mailing from other companies or groups.